top of page

City Council

The Odebolt City Council meets the first Monday of each month at 7 p.m. at the Odebolt Community Center. For special accessibility needs, please call 668-2231, at least 24 hours in advance.


Next City Council Meeting

Dec. 4, 2023

7 p.m., Odebolt City Hall

See Agenda

2023 City Council Members

Todd Bengford, Mayor

Wanita Friedrichsen, Council Member

Carl Hemer, Council Member

Lee Hemer, Council Member (Mayor Pro Tem)

Christy Hoefling, City Clerk

Chad Peterson, Council Member

Levi Thies, Council Member


City Council Committees


  • Finance: Chair - Lee Hemer

  • Properties: Chair - Carl Hemer

  • Public Safety: Chair - Todd Bengford

  • Recreation: Chair - Wanita Friedrichsen

  • Water/Sewer/Garbage: Chair - Lee Hemer

  • Streets: Chair - Levi Thies

  • Nuisance Abatement: Chair - Chad Peterson

  • Safety: Chair - Todd Bengford


A complete list of committees, including co-chairs, is available at City Hall.


City Attorney

George Blazek 
Franck, Sextro & Blazek PLC


Tax Abatement Application


Interested in starting a new business in Odebolt, or making improvements to your existing Odebolt business? Tax abatements may be available. Download the application here. For more information on incentives to starting a business in Odebolt, call City Hall at (712) 668-2231.


City Hall

205 W. Second St.

P.O. Box 433

Odebolt, IA 51458

(712) 668-2231 - City Clerk - Assistant

Hours: 8:30 a.m. - Noon and 1-3 p.m., Monday - Friday


Waste Water Office

401 W. Market St.

Odebolt, IA 51458

(712) 668-2669

Superintendent of Public Works: Michael Grote


bottom of page